In this article, we will go into detail of privacy settings for both issuers and recipients.
First and foremost, you have control over the options are are displayed for your recipients.
You can choose to show the these following options for your recipients (see image below).
This can be found in recipient experience under your main settings. You have three options for your recipients:
Public - means that the setting will always be visible beside the certificate. If it is a secure option, it will require that the user sign in to use it.
Requires Authentication - means that the setting will only show up if you are logged in and viewing your own certificate.
Disabled - means that this option will never show up for the user.
You will be able to preview the sidebar in public view and as the credential owner views it.
This will control what shows up, under what circumstances, beside the credential. Note the greyed out options, which show you what you can do with your credential when logged in, but you do not have access to it if you are simply viewing it.
Why would you want any of these options to show up if the user isn't logged in?
In short, higher user engagement. If a user re-visits their credential, they will not be logged in (for security reasons). Showing users the prompt to 'Add to LinkedIn' will give a high percentage of users sharing their credential since not everyone will do this the very first time they view their certificate. You do not lose anything by showing this option publicly, only gain more engagement.
*Note that any secure function (e.g. changing the privacy or requesting a name change) already requires that the user log in. Any public audience cannot view a recipient's certificate and change the name to their owns, as they will be stopped and prompted to sign in.
We have updated Default Credential Privacy settings within group settings. It will prompt you a warning message like so below:
Please note that it can take 2-3 weeks for search engines to react to privacy changes.
You also hold control over privacy settings for your credentials. You will have the option to set your credential to public or private.
Public- Credentials that are able to be discovered via search engine. Anyone can view your credential if they have the link.
Private- Private credentials cannot be found via a search engine. They can only be viewed by others if you share the private key with them directly.
If you have any further questions or concerns about privacy settings, feel free to email us at email@example.com