How Do I Issue Credentials as Private?

Some credentials are for selected eyes only, so when you publish these types of credentials you want them to be private.

The Default Privacy Setting

You can select which credentials you wish to be issued as private, this is done by group:

  1. Go to 'Groups' at the top of the Accredible Dashboard.
  2. Navigate to the group that you would like to issue credentials privately from and click on 'Group Settings'.
  3. In the left-hand sidebar menu click on 'Visibility'.
  4. The first setting on this page, 'Privacy - Default' allows you to turn the default privacy when issuing credentials on and off.
  5. Click 'Save' at the bottom of the page.

Privacy

Does This Effect Already Published Credentials?

No, the privacy for credentials that are already published is the control of the recipient. The 'Privacy - Default' setting only effects credentials that are published after this setting has been changed.

If you have issued credentials publicly but decide that the credential need to be private, you will need to contact the recipient and ask them to change the privacy themselves. 

For instructions on how recipients can change the privacy for their own credentials see the section below.

Can the Recipient Change the Privacy of the Credential

Yes, one of the options on your recipients' credential view is to be able to change the privacy setting of their credential. For information on how this is done check out our help article here: How Do I Make My Credential Private/Public?

The Credential Needs to be Kept Private. I Don't Want The Recipient to Make The Credential Public

You can disable the credential privacy toggle on your recipients' credential view so that they are unable to change the privacy and it remains as the default you publish with. 

Important Note: This setting will apply to all of your recipients. So if you have multiple groups, some issuing as public and some issuing as private, you will also be preventing the recipients of public credentials from being able to change their credential if they wish. 

In the interest of your recipients' ability to control the privacy of their credentials, we only recommend disabling the 'Credential Toggle Privacy' option if it is crucial that the credentials you are issuing remain private.

  1. Go to the Main Menu by click on your name at the top right-hand corner of the Accredible Dashboard, click 'Settings'
  2. In the left-hand sidebar menu click on 'Recipient View Options'
  3. Find the 'Credential Toggle Privacy' option and change the setting to 'Disabled'.
  4. Click 'Save' at the bottom of the page.

Important Note: If you decide to enable the 'Credential Toggle Privacy' option again we recommend choosing the setting 'Auth' instead of 'Public'. This means that the recipient has to be signed in to the credential to change the privacy setting and that not everyone viewing the certificate has access to this option.

PrivacyToggle

Has this article helped you? Let us know!

If you would like to tell us about any improvements you feel could be made to this page, you can email us at support@accredible.com.